Horizon Foundation announces 2023 Executive Committee

xr:d:dagbexqr ac:15,j:18438233044164107,t:24040417

March 1, 2023



The Horizon Foundation has announced its 2023 Executive Committee, with former Sanibel Mayor and Horizon Council chair Holly Smith named as incoming president. Former treasurer Ryan Carter has been named vice president, former secretary Sandy Stilwell has been named treasurer and former at large member Fred Edman has been named secretary.

Each board member provides his or her time and talents to support the Lee County Economic Development Office outside of everyday employment through the Horizon Foundation. After experiencing success within their chosen fields, these executives represent a thriving and healthy economy in our county. They work to help the Horizon Foundation achieve its goals, which include inspiring growth and ensuring that the county can recruit the right companies to the area, while also maintaining and improving Lee County’s standard of living.

“We are thankful to have such a talented group of business professionals to lead the Horizon Foundation for 2023,” said Chris Spiro, outgoing Horizon Foundation President. “As I transition out of my role as president, the commitment each of our incoming officers has made and the expertise they possess leaves me with great confidence that the Horizon Foundation will continue to thrive and ensure future growth for Lee County.”

Smith, former Sanibel mayor, is a hotelier and a long-standing community leader and is the immediate past chair of the Horizon Council. Professionally, Smith has a background as a Certified Real Estate Appraiser working exclusively on Sanibel and Captiva for over a decade. Her local community and business commitment spans nearly 35 years in Lee County, regionally and at the state and federal levels. She served as mayor of Sanibel from 2021 and 2022 and was recently reelected to Sanibel City Council and is involved with many other associations, committees and councils both locally and nationally.

Carter, President of Scotlynn USA Division, previously served as the Horizon Foundation Executive Committee Treasurer. He founded Scotlynn USA Division, Inc. alongside his younger brother Brad and business partner Scott Briddle. Scotlynn USA Division, Inc. is a transportation and logistics services provider that operates a truck fleet, freight brokerage, and distributes perishable foods for a range of Fortune 500 and smaller companies throughout North America, Canada and Mexico.

Stilwell, CEO of Stillwell Enterprises, previously served as the Horizon Foundation Executive Committee Secretary. She is highly involved and invested in the prosperity and growth of Lee County and in 2017 was inducted into the Lee County Business Hall of Fame. Stillwell is also highly involved in the nonprofit sector and has served as board member or trustee of several local nonprofit organizations.

Edman, President of Wright Construction Group, has been an at-large member of the Horizon Foundation Executive Committee since 2022. He has over 33 years of construction experience, which brings technical insight to his leadership role as secretary of the executive committee.

For more information about the role of the Horizon Foundation and its executive committee visit, https://horizoncouncilfoundation.com/.